Dealing with Grief

Go down

Dealing with Grief

Post by Sara Prince-Edgar on Tue Jan 26, 2016 4:42 pm

What is grief?
Grief is a natural & normal reaction to loss & change. It is a response which is physical, emotional, psychological, and spiritual.

Stages & Phases:
1. Denial
2. Anger
3. Bargaining
4. Depression
5. Peaceful Acceptance
* Keep in mind that not every person goes through all of the stages, some people go through them quickly, others move slower, and some get stuck. Seek help if you or someone you know is having a difficult time dealing with a life changing event. Also keep in mind that men and women deal with grief in different ways and different degrees.

When to contact a counselor:
1. Feel like life isn't worth living
2. Wishing you had died
3. Blame yourself for the loss
4. Feel numb/disconnected from others for more than a few weeks
5. Having difficulty trusting others
6. Unable to perform daily activities
*If you or someone you know experiences some or all of these symptoms, please contact a professional as soon as possible.

"Grief is not a disorder, a disease or sign of weakness. It is an emotional, physical and spiritual necessity. The price you pay for love. The only cure for grief is to grieve." -Earl Grollman

For more resources, coping strategies, support, or help please do not hesitate to contact me Sara Prince-Edgar
by email:

National Suicide Prevention lifeline 1-800-273-8255 or visit their website @

Sara Prince-Edgar

Posts : 14
Join date : 2016-01-13
Age : 33

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum